Front line assembly

While waiting for the spray on the spider riders to dry I continued on the charioteers. I wanted the boss to have a chain in his hand but I had to solve the problem with him standing on a loose base as well. I put some magnets in the hand and yoke and hid them with greenstuff. It’s now possible to remove the chain when on foot. I continued on the save king on nightmare as well adding some groin cloth and jaws. Looks more like a king now! Finally I started the boring assembly line of seven old savage orc boar boyz.

image

image

image

image

image

9 responses to “Front line assembly

  1. I’ve been absolutely loving your Orcs and Goblins lately. You’re doing some fantastic work.

    • Thank you! Orcs are my first and last love in this game and the bit box keeps growing so it’s always a fun thing to see what could be done with some spare parts from previous projects. I like that you like it 🙂

      • My first love to 🙂
        I’m planning on getting back to my Night Goblin army and putting some much awaited work into them once I’ve got my current project out of the way.

      • I’ve already got a Night Goblin army, but it was pretty much assembled and painted to tabletop standard so I could get straight to gaming.

        I went for a couple of big hordes and several smaller mobs all with maximum Fanatic load-outs. With lots of Squigs and several Shamans.

        It’s a fun little army, it just lacked a personal touch.

        I’m probably going to go for more of the same, but I want to personalise it a lot more and make the units look less regimented and more like a rabble of goblins.

        So I won’t be touching the army I have, I’ll build a new one from scratch with a lot more life to it 🙂

      • Also, just remembered…

        I was planning on the new army being built around a couple of rival warbands that have banded together in an uneasy alliance. Built around their respective bosses/shamans and wearing their tribe insignia on their shields/clothing.

        I thought it would have a twofold effect, it would give the army a little character and it would also have the added benefit of being able to distinguish between units on the table too.

      • Sounds like a good plan to me! Always love goblin armies. I don’t know why? I think an easy way to get some more character to the army is to do some regiment “fillers”. Not like an excuse to not paint though. It would be a cool scene with a big flag from the rivals in the unit. Like some kind of ritual going on between the ranks looking like fans under flag on a football stadium. Maybe lead by some guck throwing shaman?
        Hmm… Maybe I’ll steal my own idea 🙂
        Cheers,
        Thenickeninja

  2. Coolt, men vad Àr det som din savarge orc big boss rider pÄ egentligen?
    Fiffig lösning med magneterna, dÄ slipper du ha en extra gubbe till fots liksom

    • Tackar! NĂ€r jag startade armĂ©n för 10 Ă„r sen hade jag temat savage orc vampire slayers och fick tag i en billig vampire on winged nightmare. Skulle mest ha vampyren till att spika upp pĂ„ standard. Flygdjuret fick ligga till sig nĂ„t decennium och helt plötsligt kom jag pĂ„ idĂ©en att det kan vara erövrat frĂ„n nĂ„n otĂ€ck vampyr. PĂ„ basen ligger sĂ„klart huvudet frĂ„n den tidigare Ă€garen och skölden. Voila! 🙂

Leave a Reply

