Casting terrain

From sculpting to casting! Some months ago I began thinking of an indoor extension to my hive table. Last weekend I ordered some latex and resin and since yesterday I’ve been making moulds and trying my way ahead. I think this technique has some potential. I’ve managed to make three floor tiles and one wall part. I’ve plans to make some recast of the original bulkheads as well. Still I want it to blend in with rest of my scratch built terrain so I’ll still use the same computer scrap as a bulk. Let’s see where this ends 🙂

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

12 responses to “Casting terrain

  1. Nice. Looking really crisp, how did you find using latex as I would expect it to take ages to dry.
    I’d be interested in pictures of the moulds as I have tonnes of latex and some plans involving aluminium plates for paper making.
    But first I need plaster copies of the orrigionals.

      • Ah cool. Latex can be used but I wouldn’t have expected such a crisp finish. You can get thickening agents which helps but shrinkage and warping is more common in latex. Many small layers works best. I must get some silicone.

  2. Just found this in a search for reproducing Necromunda bulkheads – we’ve got a mining complex project in mind. Could you detail your casting process a bit more? What kind of mold compound did you use – silicone? And what material is the cast? I’m an absolute beginner at this, and love the effect you got with the gears and computer parts! Thank you for any help you can give.

Leave a Reply

